Staircase Theatre stages BC premieres of intelligent, dialogue-driven, boisterous plays that pack truths in between the laughs, speak to a fast-paced world, and keep theatre vital for our millennial generation. We bring emerging, mid-career and established artists together to learn and grow and take a no-nonsense approach to creating kind and respectful work environments. We enthusiastically engage artists of diverse ages, abilities, orientations, ethnicities, and genders. We endeavour to celebrate local playwrights, and be instrumental in the development of new work.


Staircase is a Vancouver-based, independent company and has been nominated for four Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards and won for Outstanding Performance by a Supporting Actor in 2015. We have produced seven plays, with critical success and sold out houses. In 2017, we produced our first, local play, The Hunger Room by Scott Button. It brought early, mid-career and established artists together and garnered critical success from many Vancouver reviewers. 2014 saw the daring Hunter Gatherers by Peter Sinn Nactrieb, which gave Staircase Theatre our first Jessie Richardson Award nomination and win (for Best Supporting Actor). Our inaugural production, Oh the Humanity and Other Good Intentions, by Will Eno, earned a spot on the short list for the 2010 Georgia Straight Critic’s Choice Award.


In addition to full-scale productions, Staircase Theatre also produces our new play reading event called Movin’ On Up. We celebrate local playwrights and their work with a staged reading of two selected one-act plays based on a specific theme. We provide a short workshop and present readings of the plays at CBC 700. It allows the playwrights to hear there work out loud and read by professional actors as well as exposing their work to fellow artists and producing companies in Vancouver. 

Staircase was founded by Maryanne Renzetti and Becky Shrimpton in July 2009.

Staircase Theatre gratefully acknowledges that our activities take place on the unceded traditional territories of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. 


Co-Artistic Director



Co-Artistic Producer



Founding Co-Artistic Director

Board of Directors:

Nick Fontaine, Lara Abadir, Tina Teeninga, Megan Grey, Nora Walker